Fairchild’s Raging Domain

unleashing the kid in me! ^o^

Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle ~ The Epilogue October 5, 2009

Click here to read!

Click here to read!

A few seconds after the ultimate CLAMP-holic Chibiyuuto posted his broadcast on Twitter, I was given the chance to take a look at the the latest raw scans of the TRC Epilogue.  Thank you!  They’re still in Japanese and I don’t really have that much time to dissect on it.  So I just looked at the pictures and somehow I understood what’s going on.  Also  some familiar Japanese characters I learned a while back proved to be a little helpful.

I didn’t get to write my insights on the final chapter (232) since I honestly was disappointed of how CLAMP  sort of cut the chase short.  Following the series for years was worth it until the last chapters. We all would agree if I’d say that we expect something to turn out real right but to my amazement, the already super complicated manga plot was  made even more perplexed.  I bet that left most of the fans fuming about the lack of concrete explanation from CLAMP… a tragic but happy ending but definitely with issues unsolved till the end.  It felt like taking the plunge and never fully surfacing again.

fleur

Anyways, the epilogue somehow explained a few things about Syaoran and Sakura and the rest of the gang, Fai, Kurogane and Mokona.

It goes a little something like this:

Things had turned out almost normally in the Clow country.  The vanishing people vanish no more making the place full of life again.  Syaoran still came to that old home when he was with Fujitaka.  Because of the choices the clones took, they sacrificed themselves and paid the heavy price of having their existence in every dimension erased (probably as I’ve understood it), no wonder why the supposedly Syaoran’s family portrait has only him and the empty chair where Clone Sakura (mom) used to sit and Clone Syaoran (dad) used to stand.  Sad.

Sakura resumed life normally in the palace, back when Touya wasn’t still king and this time Nadeshiko (mom) was still alive and Fujitaka (dad) whom Clow Reed once stood for assumed his rightful role as King and father to Sakura.  Wait, not in the present Clow I presume…?

Syaoran and Sakura met once again and finally settled that thing from before, the word.. I love you that was left unsaid by their other selves.  The group geared up for travel once again through the help of a Mokona earring (was it Modoki’s? I’m lost, but seems like it hopefully) but this time, Sakura wasn’t able to come by choice believing it would be best judging from the dream she had.  Both wanted to meet the other them once more though they have the clones’ memories inside them. And hey, am I just hallucinating or they did just revealed both their names are Tsubasa? And Fai and Kurogane’s just tag-a-longs now.

fleur

I hope I have gotten the gist right and hopefully scanlated version would be out soon!  Nonetheless, it was a satisfactory finale for TRC.  Now, I only have hopes for xxxHOLiC (so lackluster nowadays :C ) for some decent answer and I’d wager we’d see more crossovers of them in some CLAMP’s latest and ongoing works.

~~~~~~~~~~

This article has been synced with FairHOLiC .

Like this anime?  Discuss with the anime community at JAP-ON!

 

3 Responses to “Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle ~ The Epilogue”

  1. annonymous Says:

    Yes, both their real names are Tsubasa!

  2. Thank god some bloggers can still write. My thanks for this piece

  3. Exceptionally well executed writing!


Leave a Reply

