Fairchild’s Raging Domain

unleashing the kid in me! ^o^

Bride of the Water God August 27, 2008

Click here to read!

Amazing!  I’ve never read any manhwa before save “The Tarot Cafe” by Sang-Sun Park but I may just add one more title to my list!

The Bride of the Water God (하백의 신부 “Habaek’s Bride”) — a manhwa by artist Mi-Kyung Yun inched its way to be my most favorite manhwa ever!

Actually, I haven’t wrote a thing here for many days since I busied my self reading and re-reading the same.  I really can’t get enough of it! XDD

I like this manhwa for so many reasons and I’ve been dying for this series to conclude but until now, Dark Horse, the English publisher of which has only released the first two volumes! :((

I’ve only read scanlations made available on the net by generous scanlation groups up to the 39th chapter; more or less on the 6th volume already.

I’d like to enumerate according to my observation the plus factors of this manhwa.

Let me see…

  • Creator Mi-Kyung Yun is a very talented illustrator and an excellent story teller for a first timer?
  • Excellent, detailed and very elaborate graphics and not so usual plot — so it’s refreshing!
  • The characters are well-defined and each has their story to tell
  • The excitement, the anticipation and the wanting for this series to finish are building up on me!

About the negatives,

  • It’s taking so long to finish, I can’t wait!
  • Scans are really scarce since Dark Horse had it licensed *unless you’re resourceful*
  • I want to complete my collection but only two volumes are available so far :X

Okay, I can’t do anything about this but recommend it!  Everyone should try reading The Bride of the Water God and see how it’ll change your outlook towards Korean manhwa.

Here’s an Overview

The Story

When Soah’s impoverished, desperate village decides to sacrifice her to the Water God Habaek to end a long drought, they believe that drowning one beautiful girl will save their entire community and bring much-needed rain. Not only is Soah surprised to be rescued by the Water God-instead of killed-she never imagined she’d be a welcomed guest in Habaek’s magical kingdom, where an exciting new life awaits her! Most surprising, however, is the Water God himself . . . and how very different he is from the monster Soah imagined.

The Author

Mi-Kyung Yun received the “Best New Artist” award in 2004 from the esteemed Dokja-manhwa-daesang organization.

Source:  Dark Horse

Where to Read

Finally found somewhere with updates:

@ Manga Gamestotal

Where to Download

Scanlations courtesy of Entrophy, RC Scans and Chiresakura can be found here:

@ Manga Temple @ Manga Traders @ VNManga

Get hooked now! XD

 

2 Responses to “Bride of the Water God”

  1. klaraflame Says:

    Bride of the Water God is really art appreciation manhwa. I really do love Mi-Kyung Yun’s work. I’ve read it online but it got pulled so I decided to buy it and reading it online simply does no real justice to the painstaking amount of time that has gone into it. I was worried for a while that the series has been dropped as none have been published for ages, but volume three is coming out in May 2009 and volume four is out September 2009. It’ll be a long wait. :)

  2. Fairchild_13 Says:

    Thanks for dropping by! That’s true, I’ve read somewhere that volumes 3 and 4 are about to be released next by Dark Horse but still it’s too long to wait! But it’ll be worth it I know… XD


Leave a Reply

